State Fiduciary and Best Interest Standard Developments

View your state’s fiduciary information and purchase a course that will meet its requirement below.

Alabama

Revised June 10, 2021, Effective January 1, 2022. A producer who engages in the sale of annuity products shall complete a onetime four (4) credit training course approved by the department of insurance and provided by the department of insurance-approved education provider. Complete the requirements of this subsection within six (6) months after the effective date of this regulation. The minimum length of the training required under this paragraph shall be sufficient to qualify for at least four (4) CE credits, but may be longer. A producer who engages in the sale of annuity products shall complete a onetime four (4) credit training course approved by the department of insurance and provided by the department of insurance-approved education provider. A producer who has completed an annuity training course approved by the department of insurance prior to January 1, 2022, shall, within six (6) months after January 1, 2022, complete either of the following: 1. A new four (4) credit training course approved by the Department of Insurance after January 1, 2022. 2. An additional one-time one (1) credit training course approved by the Department of Insurance and provided by the approved education provider on app. Source: ALA. ADMIN. CODE r. § 482-137 (2006 / 2016) (previous version model).


Alaska

Effective January 15, 2023, licensees who sell annuity products will need to complete an annuity course covering the NAIC Best Interest Standards. Licensees who have already completed a 4-hour annuity course prior to 1/15/2023 may complete a 1-hour annuity best interest course or complete the new 4-hour annuity best interest course. Licensees will only have until 7/15/2023 to be able to take the 1-hour course. Licensees who have not completed an annuity course must take the 4-hour annuity best interests course prior to selling annuities. Residents and non-residents who have completed training including the NAIC Best Interest Standards in another state with laws similar to Alaska law will be deemed compliant with this requirement. MUST complete by 7/15/23. Source: 3 AAC 26.750 – 3 AAC 26.825.


Arizona

Effective January 1, 2021, licensees who sell annuity products will need to complete a new annuity course that includes the new Best Interest rules. Licensees who have already completed a 4-hour annuity course prior to 1/1/2021 may complete a 1-hour annuity best interest course or complete the new 4-hour annuity best interest course. Licensees will have until 6/30/2021 to be able to take the 1-hour course. Licensees who have not completed a 4-hour annuity course must take the annuity best interests course prior to selling annuities. Licensees can take the one hour course before the effective date of this regulation. Source: ARIZ. REV. STAT. ANN. §§ 20-1243.01 to 1243.07 (2006 / 2017) (portions of previous version of model).


Arkansas

The Arkansas Insurance Department issued Bulletin No. 7-2021, regarding December 29, 2020 amendments to Rule 82 Suitability in Annuity Transactions. The revisions are effective July 8, 2021. Beginning January 1, 2022, producers who engage in the sale of annuity products shall complete a one-time training course. The minimum length shall be sufficient to qualify for at least four continuing education credits. Producers who have already completed a 4-hour annuity course prior to 1/1/2021 may complete a 1-hour annuity best interest course or complete the new 4-hour annuity best interest course. Producers will have until 12/31/2021 to satisfy this requirement. Approved classes shall have the word "best interest" in the title and must have been taken after January 1, 2021. The satisfaction of training requirements of another state that are substantially similar are considered to satisfy the training requirements of Arkansas. Each insurer will be responsible for verifying producer compliance prior to selling its annuity products in Arkansas. The Rule may be viewed here. Questions may be directed to insurance.licensing@arkansas.gov or 501.371.2600. 1 HR Course MUST be completed by midnight 12-31-21. Source: ARK. ADMIN. CODE §§ 054.00.82-1 to 054.00.82-10. (2004 / 2009) (previous version of model); DIRECTIVE 2-2006 (2006); BULLETIN 11-2009 (2009); BULLETIN5-2010 (2010)


California

Producers who hold a life insurance line of authority prior to January 1, 2025, and who desire to sell annuities shall complete the requirements of this subdivision by July 1, 2025. Individuals who obtain a life insurance line of authority on or after January 1, 2025, shall not engage in the sale of annuities until the annuity training course required under this subdivision has been completed. Source: CAL. INS CODE §§ 10509.910 TO 10509.918 (1990/2016) (PREVIOUS VERISON OF MODEL).

Colorado

Effective November 1, 2022, licensees who sell annuity products will need to complete an annuity course covering the NAIC Best Interest Standards. Licensees who have already completed a 4-hour annuity course prior to 11/1/2022 may complete a 1-hour annuity best interest course or complete the new 4-hour annuity best interest course. Licensees will only have until 4/30/2023 to be able to take the 1-hour course. Licensees who have not completed an annuity course must take the 4-hour annuity best interests’ course prior to selling annuities. Residents and non-residents who have completed training including the NAIC Best Interest Standards in another state with laws similar to Colorado law will be deemed compliant with this requirement. MUST complete by 4/30/23. Source: 3 COLO. CODE REGS. § 702-4;4-1-11 (2004 / 2011) (PREVIOUS VERSION MODEL).

Connecticut

Effective March 1, 2022, producers who complete an annuity training course approved by the commissioner prior to the effective date of this regulation shall, within six (6) months after such date, complete either: a new four (4) hour CE best interest training course approved by the commissioner after the effective date of this regulation; or a one-time one (1) hour CE best interest training course approved by the commissioner and provided by the continuing education provider on appropriate sales practices, replacement and disclosure requirements under sections 38-a-432a-1 to 38a-432a-8, inclusive, of the Regulations of CT State Agencies. Individuals who obtain a life line of authority on or after March 1, 2022, may not engage in the sale of annuities until the four (4) hour CE best interest course has been completed. Annuity training courses may be conducted and completed by classroom method or by self-study method in accordance with section 38a-782a-7 of the Regulations of CT State Agencies. Source: Sections 38a-432a-1 to 38a-432a-8, inclusive, of the Regulations of Connecticut State Agencies.

Delaware

On February 1, 2021, the Delaware Department of Insurance issued a Final Regulatory Implementing Order, amending Regulation 1214 Suitability in Annuity Transactions. Effective August 1, 2021, producers who hold a life line of authority and are already certified to sell annuities, shall by February 1, 2022 complete either a new one-time four-hour annuity best interest course approved by the DOI after August 1, 2021, or a one-time one-hour best interest annuity course. Individuals who obtain a life line of authority on or after August 1, 2021, may not engage in the sale of annuities until the four-hour best interest course has been completed. The satisfaction of training requirements of another state that are substantially similar are considered to satisfy the training requirements of Delaware. Each insurer will be responsible for verifying producer compliance prior to selling its annuity products in Delaware. Source: Amended Regulation 1214.


Florida

Agents who hold a life insurance line of authority on January 1, 2024, and who desire to sell annuities shall complete the requirements of this subsection by July 1, 2024. Individuals who obtain a life insurance line of authority after January 1, 2024, may not engage in the sale of annuities until the annuity training course required under this subsection has been completed. An agent who has completed an annuity training course before January 1, 2024, shall, by July 1, 2024, complete either: a new 4-hour training course; or an additional 1-hour training course on appropriate sales practices, replacement, and disclosure requirements under this section. The satisfaction of the training requirements of another state that are substantially similar to the provisions of this subsection shall be deemed to satisfy the training requirements of this subsection in this state. The satisfaction of the training requirements of any course or courses with components substantially similar to the provisions of this subsection shall be deemed to satisfy the training requirements of this subsection in this state. An insurer shall verify that an agent has completed the annuity training course required under this subsection before allowing the agent to sell an annuity product for that insurer. MUST complete by 6/30/2024. Source: FLA. STAT. § 627.4554 (2004 / 2013) (previous version of model); FLA. ADMIN CODE ANN. R. 69B-162.011 (2009 / 2014) (FORMS REQUIRED).


Georgia

Effective August 1, 2023, licensees who sell annuity products will need to complete an annuity course covering the NAIC Best Interest Standards. Licensees who have already completed a 4-hour annuity course prior to 8/31/2023 may complete a 1-hour annuity best interest course or complete the new 4-hour annuity best interest course. Licensees will only have until 2/1/2024 to be able to take the 1-hour course. Licensees who have not completed an annuity course must take the 4-hour annuity best interests’ course prior to selling annuities. MUST complete by 2/01/2024.

Residents and non-residents who have completed training including the NAIC Best Interest Standards in another state with laws similar to Georgia law will be deemed compliant with this requirement. Source: GA. COMP. R. & REGS. 120-2-94-.01 to 120-2-94-.10 9 (2006 / 2015) (previous version of model).


Hawaii

The state of HI has adopted the NAIC Best Interest Standards. Effective December 31, 2022, Licensees who have already completed a 4-hour annuity course prior to 12/31/2022 will need to complete either a 1-hour annuity best interest course or a 4-hour annuity best interest course by 7/1/2023. Licensees who obtain a life or variable annuity products line of authority after December 31, 2022, shall not engage in the sale of annuities until the producer has completed a four-hour annuity best interest training course. MUST complete by 7/1/23. Source: HAW. REV. STAT. §§ 431:10D-621 to 431:10D-626 (2008 / 2012) (previous version of model): MEMORANDUM 2011-2(LC) (2011).


Idaho

Effective July 1, 2021, Idaho insurance producers with a life line of authority will be required to complete a minimum of four credit hours of annuity best interest continuing education (CE) approved by the Department of Insurance (Department) and provided by a Department-approved education provider. Producers who have taken the previously approved four-hour suitability course may within six months of July 1, 2021, take either a one-hour update course or the updated best interest four-hour course to satisfy the new requirement. New producers licensed on or after July 1, 2021, must complete a one-time four-hour approved annuity best interest training course. The insurer is responsible for compliance with the Annuity Consumer Protection Act. Source: IDAHO ADMIN. CODE r. 18.01.09.001 to 18.01.09.25 (2005/2013) (previous version of model); IDAHO CODE ANN. §41-1940 (2005 / 2008) (portions of previous version of model and authority to adopt regulation).


Illinois

Effective August 1, 2023, licensees who sell annuity products will need to complete an annuity course covering the NAIC Best Interest Standards. Licensees who have already completed a 4-hour annuity course prior to 8/31/2023 may complete a 1-hour annuity best interest course or complete the new 4-hour annuity best interest course. Licensees will only have until 2/1/2024 to be able to take the 1-hour course. Licensees who have not completed an annuity course must take the 4-hour annuity best interests’ course prior to selling annuities. MUST complete by 2/01/2024.

Residents and non-residents who have completed training including the NAIC Best Interest Standards in another state with laws similar to Illinois law will be deemed compliant with this requirement. Source: ILL. ADMIN. CODE tit. 50, §§ 3120.10 to 3120.90 (2017 / 2011) (previous version of model).


Indiana

A producer that has completed an annuity training course approved by the department prior to July 1, 2024, shall, within six (6) months after July 1, 2024, complete either: (1) a new four (4) credit training course approved by the department after July 1, 2024; or (2) an additional one (1) time one (1) credit training course approved by the department and provided by a CE provider on appropriate sales practices, replacement, and disclosure requirements under this rule. Source: TITLE 760 DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE. Proposed Rule - LSA Document #23-518.


Iowa

Effective January 1, 2021, licensees who sell annuity products will need to complete a new annuity course that includes the new Best Interest rules. Licensees who have already completed a 4-hour annuity course prior to 1/1/2021 may complete a 1-hour annuity best interest course or complete the new 4-hour annuity best interest course. Licensees who have not completed a 4-hour annuity course must take the annuity best interests course prior to selling annuities. Licensees can take the one hour course before the effective date of this regulation. Source: IOWA ADMIN CODE r. 191-15.8 (1963 / 2009) (life and annuity sales guidelines); 19-33.3 (1984 / 1999) (variable life); BULLETIN 2007-5 (2007); BULLETIN 2009-4 (2009).

Kansas

Kansas has adopted the best interest standard Effective January 1, 2024, producers engaging in the sale of annuities must be in compliance with 40-1-53. A producer who has completed an annuity training course approved by the Commissioner prior to January 1, 2024 shall, within six (6) months after January 1, 2024, complete either: (a) A new four (4) credit training course approved by the Commissioner after January 1, 2024; or (b) An additional one-time one (1) credit training course approved by the department of insurance and provided by the Commissionerapproved education provider on appropriate sales practices, replacement and disclosure requirements under this amended Policy and Procedure. Agents who obtain a life insurance license on or after 1/1/2024 must complete the new one-time 4 hour course before selling annuities. MUST complete by 6/30/2024. Source: KAN. ADMIN. REGS. §40-2-14a (2005/2013) (previous version of model).


Kentucky

Effective 1/1/2022, Kentucky requires agents to act in the best interest of the consumer when recommending an annuity. The training requirement has been expanded to include the new standard of conduct. Agents licensed before 1/1/2022 must complete the training by 6/30/2022. Agents who have completed the original annuity training course under the old rule, must complete either a new one-time 4 hour course or an additional one-time 1 hour course. Agents who obtain a life insurance license on or after 1/1/2022 must complete the new one-time 4 hour course before selling annuities. Compliance with another state’s training requirements that are substantially similar to this requirement will be deemed in compliance with Kentucky’s requirement. Source: Proposed Regulation Title 806 | Chapter 012 | Regulation 120.


Maine

The Maine Bureau of Insurance, Rule 917 Suitability in Annuity Transactions (Rule), has been amended. Effective January 1, 2022, a producer who engages in the sale of annuity products shall complete a one-time four (4) credit hour training course approved by the Bureau of Insurance and provided by a vendor approved by the Bureau of Insurance. A producer who has satisfied the requirement by completing an annuity training course based on a prior version of this rule shall, no later than six (6) months (June 1, 2022) after the effective date of this rule, complete a course providing training on appropriate standards of conduct, appropriate sales practices, and replacement and disclosure requirements under this amended rule. The course may be either: A four (4) credit training course approved by the Bureau of Insurance or a one (1) credit training course approved by the Bureau of Insurance and provided by a Bureau of Insurance-approved education provider. Source: Annuity Training Requirement, Suitability in Annuity Transactions (DOC) - Rule Chapter 917.


Maryland

On March 31, 2022, the Maryland Insurance Administration (MIA) adopted changes to COMAR 31.09.12, Suitability in Annuity Transactions. The changes include specific training requirements for producers selling annuity products. The regulation becomes effective on October 8, 2022, and this notification provides information to education providers about the changes. Licensed producers who hold a life insurance line of authority as of October 8, 2022, engage in the sale of annuity products in Maryland, and have already completed the required 4-hour Annuity Suitability training, must complete additional training which includes the new best interest standard as defined in COMAR 31.09.12 by April 8, 2023 (six months after the effective date of this regulation). The producer may choose to complete a one-time Annuity Best Interest 1-hour training course to supplement the previously taken 4-hour Annuity Suitability training or complete a one-time Annuity Best Interest 4-hour training course. Licensed producers who obtain the life insurance line of authority on or after October 8, 2022, and desire to sell annuity products must complete a one-time Annuity Best Interest 4-hour training course which includes the best interest standard as defined in COMAR 31.09.12 prior to engaging in the sale of annuity products in Maryland. Q. If a producer already completed the new training in another state, will they have to retake the training in every state where they may recommend or sell annuities? A. No, completion of substantially similar training in one state satisfies the training requirement in other states. Producers are not required to take the new training multiple times. MUST complete by 4/08/23. Source: MD. CODE REGS. §§ 31.09.12.01 TO 31.09.12.11 (2007 / 2011) (previous version of model); BULLETIN 2011-28 (2011).


Massachusetts

A provider of an annuity training course intended to comply with 211 CMR 96.06 shall register as a CE provider in this Commonwealth and comply with the rules and guidelines applicable to producer continuing education courses as set forth in M.G.L. c. 175, § 177E, and 211 CMR 50.00: Continuing Education for Insurance Producers. A producer who has completed an annuity training course approved by the Commissioner shall, by June 1, 2023, complete either: (a) A new four-credit training course approved by the Commissioner; or (b) An additional one time one credit course approved by the Commissioner and provided by a continuing education provider on appropriate sales practices, replacement, and disclosure requirements under 211 CMR 96.00. The satisfaction of training requirements of another State that are substantially similar to the provisions of 211 CMR 96.06 shall be deemed to satisfy the training requirements of 211 CMR 96.06. MUST complete by 6/01/23. Source: 211 CMR 96.00: Suitability in annuity transactions.

Michigan

The effective date of the amendment is June 29, 2021. Licensees qualified to sell annuities prior to June 29, 2021, may choose to take a new 4-credit annuities course or a one-time 1-credit course. The new 4-credit course must include all of the topics listed below. The 1-credit course must include instruction on appropriate standard of conduct, sales practices, replacement, and disclosure requirements under Chapter 41 of the Code. The annuity training shall cover all topics and shall not present any marketing information or provide training on sales techniques or provide specific information about a particular insurers products. Additional topics may be offered in conjunction with and in addition to the topics identified in MCL 500.4160. MI RESIDENTS: If taken prior to June 29, 2021, they will not be deemed to have satisfied the requirement, MUST be taken on or afer June 29, 2021. Source: The Act modified various sections of PA 218 of 1956, Michigan Insurance Code (Code), including, but not limited to Section 500.4160, MCL 500.4160.


Minnesota

On May 23, 2022, Minnesota’s training requirements for insurance producers who wish to engage in the sale of annuity products changed. The training requirement for an individual producer depends on when that person became licensed and whether they previously completed the annuity suitability and disclosure training required by Minnesota law. An insurance producer who sells annuity products must complete a onetime four-credit training course approved by the Commerce Department before being involved in an annuity transaction. Insurance producers who hold a life insurance line of authority on December 31, 2022, and who want to sell annuities, must complete the training requirements no later than June 30, 2023. Individuals who obtain a life insurance line of authority on or after January 1, 2023, may not engage in the sale of annuities until the required annuity training course has been completed. Annuity training courses may be conducted and completed by classroom or self-study methods in accordance with Minn. Stat. Chapter 45. Option for producers with prior training: An insurance producer licensed by December 31, 2022, who holds a life insurance line of authority and previously completed the annuity suitability and disclosure training required by Minnesota law must complete either: (1) a new four-credit training course approved by the Department of Commerce after July 1, 2022; or (2) an additional onetime one-credit training course approved by the Department of Commerce after July 1, 2022. The course must be provided by a Department of Commerce-approved education provider on appropriate sales practices and replacement and disclosure requirements under Minn. Stat. §§ 72A.203 to 72A.2036. MUST complete by 6/30/23. Source: MINN. STAT. ANN. §§ 72A.20 to 72A.2036 (2012/2014) (portions of previous version of model); §§ 60K.46 to 60K.56 (2012/2017)(portions of previous version of model); § 61A.021 (1985) (tying prohibited).

Mississippi

Effective 1/1/2022, Mississippi adopted an amendment to require producers to act in the best interest of the consumer when recommending an annuity. The training requirement has been expanded to include the new standard of conduct. Producers licensed before 1/1/2022 must complete the training by 6/30/2022. Those who have completed an annuity training course approved by the department prior to 1/1/2022, are given the option of either a new one-time 4 hour course or an additional one-time 1 hour course. Producers who obtain a life insurance license on or after the 1/1/2022 must complete the new one-time 4 hour course before selling annuities. Compliance with another state’s training requirements that are substantially similar to this requirement will be deemed in compliance with Mississippi requirement. The satisfaction of the components of the training requirements of any course or courses with components that are substantially similar will satisfy the training requirements in Mississippi. Insurers must provide product-specific training. Source: 19 MISS ADMIN. CODE. R. Pt. 2, §§ 18.01 to 18.11 (2013) (previous version of model); BULLETIN 2014-7 (2014).

Montana

On May 7, 2021, Montana passed into law Senate Bill 363, adopting annuity suitability best interest standards. Changes are effective October 1, 2021. A producer who engages in the sale of annuity products must complete a one-time four (4)-credit training course approved by the department of insurance and provided by the department of insurance-approved education provider. A producer who has completed an annuity training course approved by the department of insurance prior to October 1, 2021 must, by April 1, 2022, complete either a new four (4)-credit training course approved by the department of insurance after October 1, 2021, or an additional one-time, one (1)-credit training course. Each insurer will be responsible for verifying producer compliance prior to selling its annuity products in Montana. Source: SENATE BILL NO. 363.

Nebraska

On 4/07/21 the NE governor signed into law Legislative Bill 22, which is based on the NAIC Annuity Suitability Best Interest model. A producer who desires to sell annuities must comply with the law, which is effective immediately. A Producer who completed an annuity training course prior to July 1 2021, must, by January 1, 2022, complete a new 4 credit course approved by the Department of Insurance (DOI) after April7, 2021, or an additional one-time 1 credit course approved by DOI. Source: NEB. REV. STAT. §§ 44-8101 to 44-8109 (2006/2018) (previous version of model); BULLETIN CB-128 (2012).


Nevada

As of March 2021, Best Interest Model Regulation is pending in the legislature. Nevada’s Securities Administrator indicated the intent to resume work on the state’s proposed regulations in early 2022, with the aim of finalizing the regulations by November 2022. Source: NEV ADMIN. CODE §§ 688A.400 TO 688A.475 (2005) (previous version of model); BULLETIN 2006-004 (2006).

New Hampshire

Effective February 16, 2024, licensees who sell annuity products will need to complete an annuity course covering the NAIC Best Interest Standards. Licensees who have already completed a 4-hour annuity course prior to 1/1/2024 may complete a 1-hour annuity best interest course or complete the new 4-hour annuity best interest course. Licensees will only have until 8/16/2024 to be able to take the 1-hour course. Licensees who have not completed an annuity course must take the 4-hour annuity best interests course prior to selling annuities. Residents and non-residents who have completed training including the NAIC Best Interest Standards in another state with laws similar to New Hampshire law will be deemed compliant with this requirement. Source: N.H. CODE ADMIN.R. ANN. INS. 305.01 to 305.08 (2009/2014) (previous version of model); BULLETIN 14-036-AB (2014) (training requirement).

New Mexico

Effective October 1, 2022, licensees who sell annuity products will need to complete an annuity course covering the NAIC Best Interest Standards. Licensees who have already completed a 4-hour annuity course prior to 10/1/2022 may complete a 1-hour annuity best interest course or complete the new 4-hour annuity best interest course. Licensees will only have until 3/31/2023 to be able to take the 1-hour course. Licensees who have not completed an annuity course must take the 4-hour annuity best interests course prior to selling annuities. MUST complete by 3/31/23. Source: New Mexico Office of the Superintendent of Insurance.

North Carolina

Effective January 1, 2023, licensees who sell annuity products will need to complete an annuity course covering the NAIC Best Interest Standards. Licensees who have already completed a 4-hour annuity course prior to 1/01/2023 may complete a 1-hour annuity best interest course or complete the new 4-hour annuity best interest course. Licensees will only have until 6/30/2023 to be able to take the 1-hour course. Licensees who have not completed an annuity course must take the 4-hour annuity best interests course prior to selling annuities. Residents and non-residents who have completed training including the NAIC Best Interest Standards in another state with laws similar to North Carolina law will be deemed compliant with this requirement. MUST complete by 7/01/23. Source: NC HOUSE BILL NO. 1160. (01/05/21)


North Dakota

The North Dakota legislature has amended its annuity transaction practices law to adopt the NAIC’s model suitability standard. The amended provisions take effect January 1, 2022.Licensees who have completed a 4-hour annuity course prior to 1/1/2022 may complete a 1-hour annuity best interest course or complete the new 4-hour annuity best interest course. Licensees will have until 6/30/2022 to be able to take the 1-hour course. Licensees who have not completed a 4-hour annuity course must take the 4-hour annuity best interests course prior to selling annuities. Source: House Bill No. 1160.


Ohio

Effective February 14, 2021, licensees who sell annuity products will need to complete a new annuity course that includes the new Best Interest rules. Licensees who have already completed a 4-hour annuity course prior to 2/14/2021 may complete a 1-hour annuity best interest course or complete the new 4-hour annuity best interest course. Licensees who have not completed a 4-hour annuity course must take the annuity best interests course prior to selling annuities. The satisfaction of training requirements of another state that are substantially similar are considered to satisfy the training requirements of Ohio. Source: OHIO ADMIN. CODE 3901-6-13 (2010).

Oklahoma

Effective September 1, 2023, Producers who hold a life insurance line of authority, who were not engaged in the sale of annuities prior to September 1, 2023, and who desire to start selling annuities must complete an approved four (4) hour annuity training course within six (6) months after September 1, 2023 (no later than February 29, 2024). A Producer who fails to complete the training by this deadline must immediately cease selling annuities until the training is completed. Producers who obtain a life insurance line of authority on or after September 1, 2023, shall not engage in any annuity sales until they successfully complete an approved four (4) hour annuity training course. Producers who have completed the current Department approved “Annuity” training course prior to November 1, 2023, must complete one of the following options within six (6) months after November 1, 2023 (no later than April 30, 2024): A new four (4) credit hour training course approved by the Department or a new one (1) credit hour training course approved by the Department. The new one (1) credit hour training must cover topics, including, but not limited to: appropriate sales practices, replacement, and disclosure requirements under the amended regulation. Producers who satisfy annuity training requirements of another state will be considered compliant with the Oklahoma training requirements if the other state’s training requirements are substantially similar to the Oklahoma requirements set forth in OAC 365:25-17-7.1. Producers will also be considered compliant if they satisfy components of training requirements of any other course(s) if such components are substantially similar to the requirements set forth in OAC 365:25-17-7.1. Source: Oklahoma Administrative Code (OAC) 365:25-17-7.1.

-->

Oregon

As of Jan 1, 2024, Oregon SB 536 (2023) -Sales of Annuities- Insurance producer training will be updated to include Best Interest Standards training. Producers that completed the 4-hour, annuity suitability training prior to January 1, 2024, will have until June 30, 2024, to complete the new 1-hour, Best Interest course. After June 30, 2024, producers planning to sell annuities will have to complete the updated 4-hour training course. Source: OR. ADMIN. R. 836-080-0170 to 836-080-0193 (2011) (previous version of model).


Pennsylvania

Effective June 20, 2022, licensees who sell annuity products will need to complete an annuity course covering the NAIC Best Interest Standards. Licensees who have already completed a 4-hour annuity course prior to 6/20/2022 may complete a 1-hour annuity best interest course or complete the new 4-hour annuity best interest course. Licensees will only have until 12/20/2022 to be able to take the 1-hour course. Licensees who have not completed an annuity course must take the 4-hour annuity best interests course prior to selling annuities. Source: 40 PA. CONS. STAT. §§ 627-1 to 627-8 (2010 / 2018) (previous version of model).


Rhode Island

Effective April 2, 2021, licensees who sell annuity products will need to complete a new annuity course that includes the new Best Interest rules. Licensees who have already completed a 4-hour annuity course prior to 1/1/2021 may complete a 1-hour annuity best interest course or complete the new 4-hour annuity best interest course. Licensees who have not completed a 4-hour annuity course must take the annuity best interests course prior to selling annuities. Licensees can take the annuity best interest courses before the effective date of this regulation. Source: 230-20 R.I. CODE R. §§ 25-1.1 to 25-1.10 (2011 / 2018) (previous version of model); BULLETIN 2011-2 (2011) (training) requirement).

South Carolina

Effective November 27, 2022, a producer who engages in the sale of annuity products will need to complete a new annuity course that includes the new Best Interest rules. Insurance producers who hold a life insurance line of authority on the effective date of this regulation and who desire to sell annuities shall complete the requirements of this subsection within six (6) months after the effective date of this regulation. Individuals who obtain a life insurance line of authority on or after the effective date of this regulation may not engage in the sale of annuities until the annuity training course required under this subsection has been completed. A producer who has completed an annuity training course approved by the department of insurance prior to November 27, 2022 shall, within six (6) months after November 27, 2022, complete either: a new four (4) credit training course approved by the department of insurance after May 27, 2023; or an additional one-time one (1) credit training course approved by the department of insurance and provided by the department of insurance-approved education provider on appropriate sales practices, replacement and disclosure requirements under this amended regulation. Annuity training courses may be conducted and completed by classroom or self-study methods in accordance with S.C. Code Section 38-43-106 and S.C. Code of Regulations 69-50. MUST complete by 5/27/23. Source: Rule 1976 Code Sections 1-23-110, 38-3-110, and 38-69-330 69-29.

South Dakota

Effective January 1, 2023, licensees who sell annuity products will need to complete an annuity course covering the NAIC Best Interest Standards. Licensees who have already completed a 4-hour annuity course prior to 1/1/2023 may complete a 1-hour annuity best interest course or complete the new 4-hour annuity best interest course. Licensees will only have until 6/30/2023 to be able to take the 1-hour course. Licensees who have not completed an annuity course must take the 4-hour annuity best interests course prior to selling annuities. One-time training must be complete prior to selling annuity products. *Residents who satisfy the training requirements of another state that are similar to the South Dakota law will be deemed compliant for the South Dakota requirement. MUST complete by 6/30/23. Source: S.D. CODIFIED LAWS. §§ 58-33A to 58-33A-27 (2008 / 2012) (previous version of model): S.D. ADMIN. R. § 58-28-33 (2003); BULLETIN 2008-5 (2008).


Tennessee

Effective January 1, 2024, licensees who sell annuity products will need to complete a new annuity course that includes the new Best Interest rules. Licensees who have already completed a 4-hour annuity course prior to 1/01/24 may complete a 1-hour annuity best interest course or complete the new 4-hour annuity best interest course. Licensees who have not completed a 4-hour annuity course must take the annuity best interests course prior to selling annuities. MUST complete by 6/30/2024. Source: TENN. COMP. R.& REGS. §§ 0780-01-86-.01 to 0780-1-86-.09 (2008 / 2015) (previous version of model); BULLETIN 5-22-2013 (2013).


Texas

On June 4, 2021, the Texas legislature passed a law amending state’s Suitability of Certain Annuity Transactions statue to adopt the NAIC’s model suitability standard. The amended provisions take effect September 1, 2021. Effective September 1, 2021, licensees who sell annuity products will need to complete a new annuity course that includes the new Best Interest rules. Licensees who have already completed a 4-hour annuity course prior to 9/1/2021 may complete a 1-hour annuity best interest course or complete the new 4-hour annuity best interest course by 1/1/2022.Licensees who have not completed a 4-hour annuity course must take the annuity best interests course prior to selling annuities or before 1/1/2022. Source: Texas House Bill 1777 (Prior Session Legislation).


Utah

Utah revised its Suitability in Annuity Transactions Rule to clarify that all recommendations by agents and insurers must be in the best interest of the consumer. Agents and carriers cannot place their financial interest ahead of the consumers' interest in making a recommendation. The rule is effective July 1, 2024. Rule R590-230-1. By July 1, 2025, producers licensed before July 1, 2024, who engage in the sale of annuity products in Utah and who have completed the 4-hour training under previous regulation, must complete either a new 4-hour annuity training course or a one-time one-hour course which includes the new best interest standard. Producers licensed on or after July 1, 2024, must complete a one-time four-hour course that includes the best interest standard before engaging in the sale of annuity products in Utah. Source: UTAH ADMIN. CODE R 590-230 (2004/2012) (previous version of model).


Virginia

On June 11, 2021, the Virginia State Corporation Commission entered an Order Adopting Amendments to Rules, revising the Rules Governing Suitability in Annuity Transactions at Chapter 45 of Title 14 of the Virginia Administrative Code. Changes are effective September 1, 2021. A producer who engages in the sale of annuity products shall complete a one-time four (4)-credit training course approved by the board and provided by a board-approved education provider. An agent who has completed an annuity suitability four (4)-hour course prior to September 1, 2021, must by March 1, 2022 complete a four (4)-hour or one (1)-hour annuity suitability best interest course. The satisfaction of training requirements of another state that are substantially similar are deemed to satisfy the training requirements of Virginia. Source: Virginia Register of Regulations, REGULATIONS VOL. 37 ISS. 13 - FEBRUARY 15, 2021.


Washington

Effective January 1, 2024, Producers that completed the current WA Annuity Suitability 4 Hour Course, will only need to complete the new one-hour, Best Interest supplement course to continue to be eligible to sell annuities in Washington. Producers that have not completed the current WA Annuity Suitability 4 Hour Course, will need to take the revised 4-hour course after January 1, 2024, before they can sell annuities. No courses in Washington completed before the effective date of the new law in January, will meet the BEST INTEREST training requirement. Source: WASH. ADMIN. CODE § 284-17-265 (2012) (portions of previous version of model); § 284-23-390 (2012) (portions of previous version of model); WASH. REV. CODE § 48.23 (2009) (previous version of model).


West Virginia

Effective June 8, 2023, licensees who sell annuity products will need to complete an annuity course covering the NAIC Best Interest Standards. Licensees who have already completed a 4-hour annuity course prior to 6/7/2023 may complete a 1-hour annuity best interest course or complete the new 4-hour annuity best interest course. Licensees will only have until 12/7/2023 to be able to take the 1-hour course. Licensees who have not completed an annuity course must take the 4-hour annuity best interests course prior to selling annuities. Residents and non-residents who have completed training including the NAIC Best Interest Standards in another state with laws similar to West Virginia law will be deemed compliant with this requirement. Source: TITLE 114 LEGISLATIVE RULE OFFICES OF THE INSURANCE COMMISSIONER SERIES 11B.


Wisconsin

Wisconsin Best Interest Law (2021 Wis. Act 260) requires an intermediary who engages in the sale of annuities to complete updated annuity training which includes the best interest standard. Producers that completed an approved annuities training course prior to October 1, 2022, must complete either a one-time, 4-hour annuity training best interest course or a one-time, 1-hour refresher annuity training-best interest course within six months of the effective date of the Act. The deadline line for intermediaries to complete this updated training is April 1, 2023. Producers obtaining a new life license after October 1, 2022 must complete a one-time, 4-hour Annuity Training-Best Interest training course before selling annuities. Source: Rule 628.347.


Wyoming

Effective July 5, 2023, licensees who sell annuity products will need to complete an annuity course covering the NAIC Best Interest Standards. Licensees who have already completed a 4-hour annuity course prior to 7/4/2023 may complete a 1-hour annuity best interest course or complete the new 4-hour annuity best interest course. Licensees will only have until 1/4/2024 to be able to take the 1-hour course. Licensees who have not completed an annuity course must take the 4-hour annuity best interests’ course prior to selling annuities. Residents and non-residents who have completed training including the NAIC Best Interest Standards in another state with laws similar to Wyoming law will be deemed compliant with this requirement. Source: WYO. ADMIN. CODE 044.0002.64 §§ 1 to 9 (2014 / 2018) (previous version of model).